General Synod

The General Synod is the national assembly of the Church of England. It came into being in 1970 under the Synodical Government Measure 1969, replacing an earlier body known as the Church Assembly. It has powers in the following areas:

  • Legislation by Measure
  • Legislation by Canon
  • Relations with other Churches
  • Liturgy and Doctrinal Assent
  • Deliberation
  • Finance

The General Synod comprises the Convocations of Canterbury and York, joined together in a House of Bishops and a House of Clergy, to which is added a House of Laity. It meets in February in London and in July in York, and occasionally in November in London. Further information about General Synod can be found on the Church of England website.

The following people represent the Diocese of Bristol at the General Synod within their respective House:

House of Laity             House of Clergy
David Froude
Ed Shaw
Brendan Biggs
Revd Prof Martin Gainsborough
Revd Paul Langham
Revd Canon Mark Pilgrim