The Diocese of Bristol is led by the Bishop of Bristol and governed by our Diocesan Synod. Synodical governance provides a system for partnership with the bishop, ensuring that the diocese can consider matters together and move forward in agreement.

The Bishop's Council is the senior committee of the diocese. It is responsible for considering matters of policy; advising the Diocesan Bishop, and determining how matters should be taken forward to the Diocesan Synod for further consideration.

PCCs are the governing bodies of parish churches and are responsible for the overall wellbeing, practical as well as spiritual, of their church, the church members, and the church buildings. PCC members nominate and elect people to Deanery Synods.

Deanery Synods are the governing bodies for each deanery, a legal collection of local parishes. In the Diocese of Bristol, there are seven deaneries. Deanery Synod members nominate and elect people to Diocesan and General Synod. 

Diocesan Synod is the governance body for the Diocese, which formulates diocesan policy, assists the Bishops and their staff to support and oversee the work and mission of the diocese, approves the budget, and debates important local and national issues affecting the Church.

The General Synod is the national legislative body of the Church of England, of which the King is Supreme Governor. The General Synod legislates for the whole of the Church of England and debates matters of national and international importance. The Diocese of Bristol elects three clergy and three lay representatives alongside the Bishop of Bristol to be members of the General Synod.

Powered by Church Edit