

Elections Brief

Chairs of Diocesan Synod, Bishop's Council, Vacancy in See, and Diocesan Board of Patronage

The nomination period for the following posts and committees opened on 1 and closed on 29 August 2024.

During this period the following nominations were received:

Chairs of Diocesan Synod			
Clergy or Lay	Spaces	Nominations	Names of those
	available	received	nominated
Clergy	1	1	The Revd Trudie Wigley
Laity	1	1	Mr Bruce Finnamore

Bishop's Council			
Clergy or Lay	Spaces	Nominations	Names of those
	available	received	nominated
Clergy	2	2	The Revd Kaf Smith
			The Revd Canon Dan
			Tyndall
Laity	5	5	Mrs Julia Childerhouse
			Mr Bruce Finnamore
			Dr Clare Jefferis
			Mrs Alison Rowe
			Mr John Sunderland

Vacancy in See Committee			
Clergy or Lay	Spaces	Nominations	Names of those
	available	received	nominated

Clergy from the	2	8	The Revd Will Fairbairn
•••	2	0	The Revd Sonia Home
Archdeaconry			
of Bristol			The Revd Philip Manning
			The Revd Dr Andy Murray
			The Revd Matt
			Southcombe
			The Revd David
			Stephenson
			The Revd Sally Thomas
			The Revd Canon Dan
			Tyndall
Clergy from the	2	4	The Revd Rich Cresswell
Archdeaconry			The Revd Nick Lines
of Malmesbury			The Revd Elveen Mead
			The Revd Marc Terry
Laity from the	4	8	Canon Richard Bacon
Archdeaconry			Ms Sally Cordwell
of Bristol			Dr Clare Jefferis
			Mrs Caroline Jowett-Ive
			Mr Llewelyn Lawton
			Ms Jeni Leggat-Green
			Ms Caroline Plaice
			Canon Peter Robottom
Laity from the	4	5	Mr Sam Clarke
Archdeaconry			Ms Nathalie Marshall
of Malmesbury			Canon Nick Orman
			Mrs Alison Rowe
			Miss Laura Thomas

Diocesan Board of Patronage			
Clergy or Lay	Spaces available for Clergy	Nominations received	Names of those nominated
Clergy	3	3	The Revd Jacqui Kean The Revd Sally Robertson The Revd Steve Wilkinson

Laity	5	2	Miss Helen Clifton
			Canon Peter Robottom

Elected unopposed

Due to receiving the same number of nominations as spaces available or fewer nominations that spaces available, the following candidates were elected unopposed:

Chairs of Diocesan Synod		
Clergy	The Revd Trudie Wigley	
Laity	Mr Bruce Finnamore*	

* Mr Bruce Finnamore also stood as a Lay member for Bishop's Council; however, as he was elected unopposed as Chair of the House of Laity for Bristol Diocesan Synod, he is an ex-officio member of Bishop's Council. Consequently, his name is not listed on the below list of Lay members of Bishop's Council who were elected unopposed.

Bishop's Council		
Clergy	The Revd Kaf Smith	
	The Revd Canon Dan Tyndall	
Laity	Mrs Julia Childerhouse	
	Dr Clare Jefferis	
	Mrs Alison Rowe	
	Mr John Sunderland	

Please note, there is one casual vacancy for a lay member on Bishop's Council.

Diocesan Board	Diocesan Board of Patronage		
Clergy	The Revd Jacqui Kean		
	The Revd Sally Robertson		
	The Revd Steve Wilkinson		
Laity	Miss Helen Clifton		
	Canon Peter Robottom		

Please note, there are three casual vacancies for lay members on the Diocesan Board of Patronage.

Casual Vacancies

If you are interested in learning more about the casual vacancies, please contact <u>governance.support@bristoldiocese.org</u> for an informal chat.

Elections

Vacancy in See Committee

As more nominations were received than spaces available, elections will be held for the Vacancy in See Committee. The elections will be held via single transferable vote between 10 October – noon on 31 October 2024.

The voting papers have been included in the Diocesan Synod induction meeting paperwork so that if anyone has any questions about how to vote, they have the opportunity to do so before the elections open. Please submit any questions to governance.support@bristoldiocese.org.